LIVE: Who will form the government in Meghalaya and Nagaland, voting has started amid tight security

meghalaya elections nagaland elections- India TV Hindi

Image Source: ANI
Voting begins for assembly elections in Meghalaya and Nagaland

Assembly Elections 2023: Voting for the assembly elections in Nagaland and Meghalaya has started at 7 am today. Voters are voting in the assembly elections on Monday keeping in mind the demands of separate statehood, corruption and other issues. In Nagaland, over 1,300,000 voters are exercising their franchise to decide the electoral fate of 183 candidates in 59 of the 60 assembly seats. Bharatiya Janata Party candidate and sitting MLA Kazeto Kinimi has won unopposed from Akuluto constituency in Zunheboto district. The polling has started at 7 am in 2,291 polling stations which will continue till 4 pm. Of the polling stations, 196 are being manned by women polling personnel and 10 by persons with disabilities.

In Meghalaya too, polling has begun for 59 out of 60 assembly seats. Voting has been postponed due to the death of a candidate in the Sohyeong constituency. While the ruling National People’s Party (NPP) is fighting to retain power in the state, the BJP and the Trinamool Congress are trying to oust the current government.

Latest India News

Breaking News in Hindi on India TV Hindi news Read the latest news, live news updates and special stories from India and abroad and keep yourself up-to-date. National News in Hindi Click to India Section

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *