MCC and WCC bluntly on ‘Mankading’, said – bowlers are not villains, batsmen break the rules

.-India TV Hindi

Image Source: TWITTER
Deepti Sharma had runout the England batsman at the non-striking end

Mankading or now in official terms, runout at the non-striker’s end is a topic of constant discussion. Even after the ICC recently declared it an official runout, many former cricketers continue to maintain it as an issue of sportsmanship. Regarding this, once again the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the organization that makes the rules of cricket, has issued a blunt statement. According to this, there is no fault of the bowler in this type of runout, but it is the fault of the batsman that he breaks the rule and leaves the crease earlier.

Regarding this, the World Cricket Committee (WCC) said that no bowler can be called a ‘villain’ for ‘running out’ the batsman standing ahead of his crease in an attempt to steal runs at the non-striker’s end. The WCC has said this in an attempt to normalize the method of dismissals in all age group level cricket. Fellow WCC also called for ‘restraint’ on the controversial issue as some former cricketers still believe that running out a batsman in this way is against the spirit of the game. Whereas the ICC (International Cricket Council) has made a rule that it will be considered as ‘run out’.

Former stalwarts like Kumar Sangakkara, Sourav Ganguly, Justin Langer, Alastair Cook are included in the WCC which is headed by Mike Gatting. The WCC met at the ICC headquarters in Dubai last week and is now talking calm about adopting this rule at all levels of the game (from recreational cricket to elite level). Because it is under the rules to run out the player standing ahead of the crease at the non-striker’s end.

MCC gave this statement

At the same time, the MCC, which makes the rules of the game, issued a clarification on the wording of the rule last month after the incident of Australian leg-spinner Adam Zampa trying to run out Tom Rogers standing at the non-striker’s end in a Big Bash League match. This clarification included a change in the wording of Rule 38.3 to provide better clarity and remove misunderstandings. The MCC also said in a statement on Thursday that the most important factor that can be done in a simple way to eliminate all doubt and controversy on the manner of such dismissal is that the player standing at the non-striker’s end has violated the rules. Follow through and stay inside your crease until the bowler bowls the ball.

Apart from this, this issue also came up in the discussion in Dubai that the bowler is criticized for getting out like this. All the members of the committee were unanimous that the batsman who breaks the rules of the game and stands ahead of his place at the crease is guilty. It was agreed that the bowler was not required to give any warning to the batsman, confirming that he had the right to dismiss the offending batsman at the same time. Sri Lankan veteran Kumar Sangakkara said on this that the bowler is not the ‘villain’ (villain) here. Each batsman has the option of staying inside his crease or risk being run out if he tries to move forward. If he stays out of his crease, he is the one breaking the rules.

Read this also:-

Latest Cricket News

Breaking News in Hindi on India TV Hindi News Read the latest news, live news updates and special stories from India and abroad and keep yourself up-to-date. Cricket News in Hindi Click to Play Section

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *